Not a Surprise to See Chennai Super Kings Lifting the IPL Trophy Yet Again!

  • The sixteenth edition of the Indian Premier League T20 tournament had all the usual ingredients expected from a marquee event that got concluded recently. Due to the draw of the event, the IPL brand has not only attained unfathomable levels of popularity but has also been able to generate incredible amounts of income. It is understandable why both the paying attendees and the performing performers don’t want to pass up a big contract greatly like the cash-rich event. As such, every player worth mentioning on the international circuit makes a beeline to participate in the franchise-based league, where the paychecks are extremely attractive. Yes, the popularity of cricket in India ensures the moolah keeps flooding in.

PC: Bharatvarsh

  • Needless to mention, the entire duration of the tournament had lots of thrilling elements, satiating the cravings of the cricket-crazy fans unendingly. Of course, there were several twists and turns to be expected, but the two teams that showed consistency right through the tournament made it to the finals. Remember, the defending champion Gujarat Titans, led by Hardik Pandya, were the most consistent team during the event and befittingly reached the finals on the back of astonishing performances. The batting led by the new superstar of Indian cricket, Shubhman Gill, was mesmerizing, to say the least, ably supported by the likes of Wriddhiman Saha and Sai Sudarshan, with Pandya chipping in with useful contributions. 
  • The bowling department was led by none other than the indomitable Mohammed Shami, the ever-reliable Afghan leggie Rashid Khan, and the comeback man Mohit Sharma, who stood as the three-leading wicket-takers of the league. On the other hand, the Chennai Super Kings were led by the legend of the game, MS Dhoni, who was determined to turn last year’s disastrous campaign into something memorable. We all know how CSK goes about building its team with moderately successful cricketers who blossom the moment they call the franchise their home. Look at how Ambati Rayudu has consistently performed for the franchise over the years. And Ajinkya Rahane has been a revelation, displaying dazzling strokeplay with such nonchalance.


  • The CSK openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway were consistent right through the edition, ably supported by another revelation of the year, batsman Shivam Dube. The Sri Lankan pacer Maheesha Theekshana has emerged as a force to reckon with, and Deepak Chahar did not harm his reputation as a bowler with a big heart. And the spinners have always been the strength of CSK. Ravi Jadeja and Moeen Ali put the breaks on the opposition scorers with tight spells when it mattered most. And in the final, Ravindra Jadeja came to the party, hitting 10 runs off two balls to seal the win for CSK. With this win, CSK has won the coveted title five times, joining the other successful franchise, the Mumbai Indians. Yes, the charisma and legend of MS Dhoni continue.