Facebook Launches ‘Reactions’ Button Offering 5 New Options Alongside ‘Like’ Button


If you are an active Facebook user then you may have come across this news. Recently, Facebook has added ‘Reactions’ Button with five new emojis for love, sadness, anger, “wow” and “haha.” So now users can express their feelings more rather than just liking the post of their friends.

Here is what Mark Zuckerberg, the CEO has to say about it:

'Reactions' button 2“Today is our worldwide launch of Reactions — the new Like button with more ways to express yourself.
Not every moment you want to share is happy. Sometimes you want to share something sad or frustrating. Our community has been asking for a dislike button for years, but not because people want to tell friends they don’t like their posts. People wanted to express empathy and make it comfortable to share a wider range of emotions.”

He further added, 

“I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about the right way to do this with our team. One of my goals was to make it as simple as pressing and holding the Like button. The result is Reactions, which allow you to express love, laughter, surprise, sadness or anger. Love is the most popular reaction so far, which feels about right to me!”

Still the ‘Dislike’ option is absent in the list. Reason being the company doesn’t want to give users a “down-vote” option. The new ‘Reactions’ button is globally out after being tested in Ireland and Spain.

How can I use this new ‘Reactions’ button added feature?

'Reactions' button 3You need to hold down the Like button on your mobile apps or just hover over it on the desktop to see the ‘Reactions’ button. Then tap either Like, Love, haha, Wow, Sad or Angry.

No users can show their “angry” or “sad” reactions on any content of the post along with “likes,” “loves” and “wows”. The disable function is currently not applicable of the same.

Facebook comes out with this ‘Reactions’ button after last year’s release of Disney-Pixar’s “Inside Out”. There we had seen five emotions, characters- joy, anger, fear, disgust and sadness. Make sure you use this feature well, as Facebook has brought this ‘Reactions’ button after one year of research.

Image Source: Featured Image, Image1, Image2
Video Source: Link

Meet the Author

Rishi Gupta

Rishi Gupta is an Engineering Computer Science student. He holds 2 years of writing experience on different subjects like Technology and Social Media. Other than writing, he loves to travel and explore new places.

Rishi Gupta has written 77 articles for Kanigas. Want to write for us ?

Apply Now »


+ 69 = 73

Join our Network of Bloggers


Blogger · Nature Lover ·Technology enthusiast


Blogger · Graphic Designer · Freelancer.


Blogger · Dentist by Profession · Loves Creativity.


Blogger · Chartered Accountant · Likes Sarcasm.


Join Now »
Most Popular on Kanigas