Nitish Kumar, The Man Who Lost Twice In State Elections



Nitish Kumar, Laloo Prasad, Grand alliance, Bihar, Elections, Maha Gathbandhan

As the Maha Gathbandhan \ Grand Alliance wins the Bihar Assembly Election 2015, Bihar gets its new Chief Minister. Nitish Kumar is all set to rock Bihar. Here are some attention-grabbing facts about the man who lost twice in State Elections and now wins Bihar elections:

  • Born on March 1, 1951 in Bihar. Nitish Kumar’s father was a freedom fighter who was very close to Dr. Vibhuti Anugrah Narayan Sinha, one of the founders of modern Bihar. Nitish is a part of the Janata Dal (United) part.
  • Nitish holds a degree in Electrical Engineering from NIT, Patna. Post that he worked in the Bihar State Electricity Board, but later on moved to pursue his career in politics.
  • Nitish gathered knowledge on politics, under the guidance of Jayaprakash Narayan, S N Sinha, Karpuri Thakur, Ram Manohar Lohia, and V. P. Singh.
  • Nitish resigned from his position in August 1999, followed by the Gaisal train disaster. Before that he served as the Union Cabinet Minister, Railways, and Minister for Surface Transport and as the Minister for Agriculture in 1998-99.
  • Earlier Nitish Kumar served as the Chief Minister of Bihar from the year 2005 to 2014. He took the responsibility morally for his party’s poor performance in the general elections, 2014. He resigned from his position on May 17, 2014. Though, he returned back to office in February 2015 post political crisis.
  • Nitish is popular as an efficient taskmaster. Series of developmental and constructive activities initiated by him gained him immense popularity, which includes building of long-delayed bridges and re-laying roads that had come to an end to its existence.
  • Over 1, 00,000 school teachers were appointed, doctors were made available in primary health centres, active check on crime all these activities were initiated in the tenure of Nitish. It is said that under his rule, the state recovered from immense economic collapse and corruption.
  • Bihar assembly election 2015 was won by a huge margin of 178 seats against BJP and its associates which won 58 seats.
  • In a Nation Poll by CNN-IBN and Hindustan Times State, 2007 Nitish was honoured as ‘The Best Chief Minister.
  • Also honoured as the Forbes’ ‘India’s Person of the Year’ in the year 2010.

Image Source :Featured Image,Image 1.

Meet the Author


Meghna hails from the "City of Joy" Kolkata, West Bengal. She is currently located in Bengalaru. An MBA HR by profession, she has 5 years of corporate experience in HR and Admin. She is passionate about writing and interior designing . During her free time, she enjoys cooking and window shopping over the web.

Meghna has written 351 articles for Kanigas. Want to write for us ?

Apply Now »


+ 55 = 60

Join our Network of Bloggers


Blogger · Nature Lover ·Technology enthusiast


Blogger · Graphic Designer · Freelancer.


Blogger · Dentist by Profession · Loves Creativity.


Blogger · Chartered Accountant · Likes Sarcasm.


Join Now »
Most Popular on Kanigas