Australia Cricket Team whitewashed, India Is 1st Team In 140 Years To Defeat Australia 3-0


First time in 140 years, Australia Cricket Team is whitewashed 3-0. India on the other hand had too much on stake, especially after drubbing received in One day series losing by an embarrassing 4-1 margin. At last it was India who came triumphs winning 3-0 and in the process becoming top T-20 cricket team in the World.


The 3rd T-20 between India and Australia gave the visitors a chance to sweep the series and become the first Indian team ever to inflict 3-0 defeat on Australia in limited over internationals. India had one more motivation to win the match as a win would guarantee India top spot in International T20 rankings.

India complete a clean sweep of 3-0 in Cricket T20 series, becomes #1 T-20 team

Riding on useful and quick contributions from Rohit Sharma (52), Shikhar Dhawan (26), Virat Kohli (50), Suresh Raina (49 N.O) and Yuvraj Singh (15 N.O) held their nerves to win the thriller on last ball of the innings. Suresh Raina hit the winning 4 on the last ball of the match to give India an elusive 3-0 win over Australia.

The last over needed 17 runs with another choke up run chase looming large on Indian team. Yuvraj Singh was also soaking up deliveries without connecting big shots. However, Yuvraj quickly made amends to his slow start by smacking the first 2 deliveries of last over to 4 and 6 respectively.

Australian Innings: Fantastic Debut by Shane Watson as Captain

Shane Watson, the debutant Australia Cricket captain celebrated his helm at the top by delivering a blistering 124 runs of just 71 balls hammering Indian bowlers all over the park and in the process smashing 6 sixes.  Although the Australian captain did not get any meaningful support from any other batsman, his innings was enough to guide Australia to an imposing 197 runs total.


Earlier, Australia’s stand-in captain Shane Watson chose to bat against India in the third Twenty20 match at the Sydney Cricket ground. The hosts made another five changes to their team, bringing in in-form Usman Khawaja and the part-time wicketkeeper Cameron Bancroft for their debuts. The hosts also dropped James Faulkner, Nathan Lyon and John Hastings for Travis Head, Cameron Boyce and Shaun Tait.

Image Sources : Cricinfo

Meet the Author

Ankit Gupta

Ankit has been a copywriter since 2009 and has the credit of being a certified copywriter, technical writer and instructional writer. He has been writing website copy and blogs since 2010 and is also an SEO specialist. An Engineering graduate with an MBA Marketing postgraduate degree, he has the experience to deliver copy on diversified fields.

Ankit Gupta has written 106 articles for Kanigas. Want to write for us ?

Apply Now »


+ 83 = 85

Join our Network of Bloggers


Blogger · Nature Lover ·Technology enthusiast


Blogger · Graphic Designer · Freelancer.


Blogger · Dentist by Profession · Loves Creativity.


Blogger · Chartered Accountant · Likes Sarcasm.


Join Now »
Most Popular on Kanigas